OMR Food Street: A yummy hangout for food lovers

IMG_20160723_203714

When was the last time Rs 150-200 was enough to satisfy your hunger? The growing number of malls and fancy restaurants have made us forget the bliss of street eating. It’s a different joy when you are standing in front out of Ranjoli in Nugambakkam and gorging on golgappas one by one and asking for an extra ‘Sukkha’ or waiting in queue to get your hands on the piping hot idlies at Seenu Idly, a quaint little shop on the road in Sowcarpet.

There are a lot of places specializing on a street food in a particular area, but what if you want to have all the delicious foods in a day. Would you roam around the city from one corner to the other like a manic?

We all want to enter a street and be spoilt for choice on the delicious delicacies. Don’t we? Well, then head to OMR Food Street, Chennai’s First Organized Food Street. I had seen this place listed on Zomato sometime back and had made a mental note to try this place out. And it was perfect timing when Chennai Bloggers Club invited us for a blogger outreach program there.

20160723_191005

OMR Food Street is like a Food shopping complex. Neatly arranged shops opposite each other and a road running between them. You can take your car inside the road, park, eat or carry out your food and leave from the other side. So Simple na!

You won’t have to go to fancy restaurants to try on exotic cuisines. This street had over 20 joints that covers cuisines like Arabian, Malaysian, Mexican, Thai, Indian and more. And ya I almost forget, all of these are so damn light on the pocket.

The first thing that I layed my hand on was a flavored soda from Soda Hub. It was super refreshing and I tried their Cola Soda with Jaljira. Yummy by a wrong choice to start when you have a list of dishes to try out. I knew it but badly wanted something to refresh me after the boring cab ride. Then as expected, I couldn’t try on many joints.

Wrapaholics

20160723_194204

Terrible Pic. But, that’s all I have!!

A Mexican joint that had brilliant wraps. As a vegetarian, my options were limited and I tried their Tikki Crunch.

Mex I Khana

20160723_191314

After the heavy wrap, I opted for a light Nachos. Well, to be honest, I was disappointed.

Stuf-fed

IMG_20160723_193423

Pic by: Karthik Murali

All the blogger friends advised me to try the Chole Bhatura from this Punjabi joint Stuf-fed. It took them time to prepare as they were flowing with orders. And being late, I had to wait. One bite into this yummy chole Bhatura, I forgot the frustration of the wait and I wasn’t complaining.

I also tried Thattu Vadai from Salem’s Thattu Kadai. A traditional dish from Salem, it looked deceiving. Something like Muruku Sandwich, this had two tattu with fillings in between them. I was not prepared for this spicy dish. Didn’t like the first time but developed the taste for it. Now, I am definite that the next time I am there, this is the first thing that I would order.

Out of the ones that I didn’t try are Limon, Bits & Bytes, New Town, Oasis, Burma Square, Zuki and Co., KiMu and many more. OMR Street Food, I am visiting you soon

P.S: Because of the crazy traffic, I reached the place after the sun was down and couldn’t click enough photographs. But, I’ll be back there soon and click in broad daylight.

Leave a comment